Creative Challenge Part Two Week 3: Still Life

Still life art is something I have struggled with, and after multiple attempts to create this piece I finally have something I actually like.

I have a pretty decent collection of Zane Gray first edition books, I was introduced to Zane Gray by my Nana Janet. Apparently my Grandpa Jim enjoyed Zane Gray and she would let me borrow his books, after reading all of his I started checking them out from the library and buying the earliest editions I could find at flea markets, book stores and antique malls. I don’t think I ever paid more than $10 for a copy. I was gifted several first editions by friends and family for birthdays and Christmas throughout the years. You see I live less than an hour away from Zanesville, Ohio the birthplace of Zane Gray which ironically wasn’t named after him the city was founded by his maternal great-grandfather Ebenezer Zane. Per Wikipedia “Zanesville was named after Ebenezer Zane, who had constructed Zane’s Trace, a pioneer road from Wheeling, VA (now WVa) to Maysville, KY through present-day Ohio. In 1797, he gave land as payment to his son-in-law, John McIntire (1747–1811), at the point where Zane’s Trace met the Muskingum River. With Zane’s help, McIntire platted out the town and opened an inn and ferry by 1799. In 1801, Zanesville was officially renamed from Westbourne (Zane’s chosen town name).”

The small horn is my salute to Christmas as it is my favorite holiday besides my birthday. (wink wink).

The shoe form is new founded collection of mine I have several different kinds laying about the house waiting for their own special place to reside.

The wooden box was found in a large cardboard box of tools my husband had purchased at a local auction, I just love the patina on it and the fact it actually held cheese at one time. It has a place of honor on my bookcase that is to my right of my desk.

ImageImage

Image

One thought on “Creative Challenge Part Two Week 3: Still Life

Leave a Reply

