Juggling the Job and Home

There are days where I struggle a lot, especially right now when all I want to do is just lay around and happily get fat. Hey I’m allowed I am growing another human being. However having 3 other children 1 of which I homeschool on top of running my Etsy shop and a home, some times there is just not enough hours in the day. It doesn’t help either that I gave up my only source of caffeine 4 1/2 months ago before I ever became pregnant, so when 3 o’clock rolls around my head starts bobbing.

So how does one do it all?

Easy I don’t, there are days when my shop is ignored and there are days the house is ignored. I try to balance work and home and think I have finally figured out what works for me. I try to spend only an hour a day on my shop on my computer, not that doesn’t sound like a lot that doesn’t count in the hours of time I spend measuring and handwriting my listings, repairing if needed and if  I can do it, steaming, photographing, editing photographs, researching etc. Many times I’ll measure and write my listing out while I am sitting with my daughter while she does her school work, while she is doing work that needed minimal amount of help from me. This isn’t a perfect system and there are times it doesn’t get done but I do the best I can.

I have also decided after Thursday that I am taking a much needed month off from working in my studio, the heat doesn’t work real well upstairs yet and the fact I just need a break. I feel like I am running all over the place and not getting a darn thing done isn’t helpful to my family or I. Hopefully after a much needed break I can more forward and get my studio done in a timely manner since all I have to finish is priming and painting and I can move my stock up there.

I am planning on turning the smallest bedroom of the apartment into a playroom for my kids, so I can take them with me to work and they have their own space to do so. I will have to paint that room as well but that will be fairly simple as it is small room and should only take two days to prime and paint it. I am going to ask my daughter to pick out the color for that room as it is right now it is a pistachio green.

DSC_0384

This isn’t the greatest picture of what will be a playroom as my racks take up a large portion of the room as do the photography lights that belong to the business below.

So one day before spring my studio will be finished and I will enjoy having a couple of rooms back in my house.

Until next time,

Kristen

One thought on “Juggling the Job and Home

  1. Love the playroom idea! My two kids had enclosed spaces fashioned from connectable freeform playpens in my stores when they were small. The now 25 year old was about 3 days old when she first came to the shop with me. Challenging, yes, but very much worth it!

Leave a Reply

