Sailor Girl

cc18a

In another installment of story time. A fictional story I made up about a dress I have in my shop.

Just like the yellow sister dresses I found this pretty sailor girl dress at a flea market, I instantly fell in love with it and made sure it came home with me. This pretty is already listed in my shop, you can check out the listing here.

Sailor Girl

Daddy just bought a yacht much to Mama’s dismay, she told him not to but he never listens and buys what he wants. A new boat means new boating clothes and Mama ever the proper one made sure I was dressed in the best. She found my new sailor dress at Lazarus on a freshly brought in rack of clothes. I do have to say of all the sailor dresses I’ve had to wear this is my favorite. It is an off white dress with blue trim and red sailor knot bow in the front, plus the fabric is this so I won’t be too hot out in the sun. Mama said it was A Kate Greenaway Keepsake dress, I don’t know who that is but I hear she is a great designer of children’s clothes and Mama said I should be honored to wear one of her creations. I mean it is a nice dress and all but it is still just a dress. Now my friend Betty, her Mama sews all of her clothes and she always has the best looking dresses in school well at least I think so.

Today we are heading to the yacht club now that Daddy bought a yacht we are now card carrying members of the yacht club. It seems a little pretentious to me but I’ll go anyways because I heard that Burt Conway’s Dad owns a yacht and I want to see if our yacht is bigger than his so I can hold that over Burt’s head when he is mean to Betty. I asked Mama if Betty could come with us today but she told me maybe next time because she was afraid Betty would embarrass her for some reason. I don’t see why she would I mean I’m usually the one that embarrasses her. Accidents just kind of find me. Just last weekend after church I was walking slowly and lady like to the car like Mama is always instructing me to and I tripped over a large rock and landed face first into a big mud puddle. I was covered from head to toe in mud and gross water,  put a hole in my new stockings and my shoes squished when I walked in them.

Daddy is very understanding of my clumsiness, he usually holds my hand when we go somewhere in case I do fall he can catch me. On Sunday he skipped church and went to buy a yacht much to Mama’s chagrin.
The yacht is beautiful, all white with gold stripes down it. It’s tall to, I think it has 3 levels in it Daddy said, I really don’t care about that. I just love to sail, Daddy always takes me sailing on the weekends during the summer. Sometimes we go out for a few days and come home all sunburned, when that happens Mama usually throws a fit since young ladies of 10 aren’t suppose to be sunburned and look like a pirate. I don’t know where Mama gets these silly ideals but I go along with them for the most part because it is just easier than fighting with her.

Thank you for reading another one of my stories, I hope to be bringing more of those to the blog soon.

Until next time,
~Kristen

Leave a comment